There is no scientific reason why industrial acetic acid cannot be used to make vinegar.
[Editor: possibly it has to do with food labeling. i.e. to be called "vinegar" it has to come from fermented foodstuffs. Otherwise it would have to be labelled something like 5% Acetic Acid. Just a guess.]
making a small donation to science.ca.